SANIERUNG EHEM. KAISERIN-AUGUSTA-HOSPITAL BERLIN © KARL STORZ SE & Co. KG
SANIERUNG EHEM. KAISERIN-AUGUSTA-HOSPITAL BERLIN © KARL STORZ SE & Co. KG

Description

Right in the centre of Berlin, Swiss architect and design enthusiast Felix Aries created a new visitor and training centre in the former Kaiserin-Augusta Hospital for one of Germany's leading medical technology companies, Karl Storz SE & Co. KG from Tuttlingen.

The renovated hospital, which opened in 1868, originally focused on upper-class patients, followed by injured soldiers in the First World War, and served as a military hospital until the end of the Second World War. The GDR government subsequently used the building for offices, but neglected maintenance.

Following a substantial renovation programme, Aries developed a holistic concept for representation, product showroom and showcases for complex medical operating theatre technologies and solutions with outstanding work and office spaces in combination with intelligent and sustainable building technology. The concept respected the old shell, retained details of the time and complemented it with new elements, such as a winter garden.

The new visitor and training centre not only accommodates employees and guests, such as customers and business partners, but it is also an advanced training location for medical doctors from Europe and Asia.

Around 7000 m² of Clina capillary tube mats were installed as floor heating and cooling ceilings. Due to their low installation height, they are perfectly suited for existing buildings. The capillary tube system also requires only low flow temperatures and gets its energy from the neighbouring combined heat and power plant, among other sources. No additional heat generators are required, which ensures permanently low operating costs. The cooling system is supplied by chillers installed on the roof.

Besucher- und Schulungszentrum Eingang Besucher- und Schulungszentrum Flur

   © Felix Aries / Photography Hans Fonk

Project

Project title

Visitor & Training Center Karl Storz Berlin

Location

Berlin
Germany

Building type

public building/
refurbishment

Architect

Felix Aries

Client

Karl Storz SE & Co. KG

Year

2012 - 2014

CTM surface

6.900 m²

SANIERUNG EHEM. KAISERIN-AUGUSTA-HOSPITAL BERLIN © KARL STORZ SE & Co. KG
SANIERUNG EHEM. KAISERIN-AUGUSTA-HOSPITAL BERLIN © KARL STORZ SE & Co. KG

Beschreibung

Mitten im Zentrum von Berlin schuf der Schweizer Architekt und Designenthusiast Felix Aries ein neues Besucher- und Schulungszentrum im ehemaligen Kaiserin-Augusta-Hospital für eines der führenden deutschen Medizintechnikunternehmen, Karl Storz SE & Co. KG aus Tuttlingen.

Das renovierte Hospital, welches 1868 eröffnet wurde, richtete sich ursprünglich an Patienten der oberen Klasse, gefolgt von verletzten Soldaten im Ersten Weltkrieg und diente bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs als Lazarett. Die DDR-Regierung nutzte das Gebäude anschließend für Büros, vernachlässigte jedoch die Instandhaltung.

Nach einem umfassenden Renovierungsprogramm entwickelte Aries ein ganzheitliches Konzept für Repräsentation, Produktshowroom und Showcases für komplexe medizinische OP-Technologien und -Lösungen mit hervorragenden Arbeits- und Büroflächen in Kombination mit intelligenter und nachhaltiger Gebäudetechnik. Das Konzept respektierte den alten Rohbau, behielt Details der damaligen Zeit und ergänzte diesen mit neuen Elementen, wie einem Wintergarten. 

Das neue Besucher- und Schulungszentrum beherbergt nicht nur Mitarbeiter und Gäste, wie Kunden und Geschäftspartner, sondern ist auch einen Weiterbildungsstandort für Ärzte aus Europa und Asien.

Rund 7.000 m² Clina Kapillarrohrmatten wurden als Fußbodenheizung und Kühldecke installiert. Aufgrund ihrer geringen Aufbauhöhe sind diese bestens für den Bestandsbau geeignet. Das Kapillarrohrsystem benötigt zudem nur geringe Vorlauftemperaturen und bezieht seine Energie unter anderem aus dem benachbarten Blockheizkraftwerk. Es werden keine zusätzlichen Wärmeerzeuger benötigt, was dauerhaft niedrige Betriebskosten sichert. Die Versorgung der Kühlanlage übernehmen Kältemaschinen, die auf dem Dach installiert sind.

Besucher- und Schulungszentrum Eingang Besucher- und Schulungszentrum Flur

   © Felix Aries / Photography Hans Fonk

Projekt

Projektname

Besucher- & Schulungszentrum Karl Storz Berlin

Standort

Berlin
Deutschland

Gebäudetyp

Öffentliches Gebäude/
Sanierung

Architekt

Felix Aries

Bauherr

Karl Storz SE & Co. KG

Jahr

2012 - 2014

Fläche KRM

6.900 m²