Palais Liechtenstein von der Gartenseite
Palais Liechtenstein Wien © Mistervlad - stock.adobe.com

Description

The Liechtenstein City Palace, built between 1691 and 1705, is the initial building of high baroque architecture in Vienna. Its interior construction from 1836 to 1847 is regarded as the first and most important redesign in the style of the "Second Rococo". The revitalization of the Liechtenstein City Palace was of great importance for Vienna from a cultural and historical point of view.

After years of provisional use, new planning began in March 2007. Their objectives were a multifunctional use in keeping with the architectural and artistic significance of the palace and a general refurbishment in accordance with scientific criteria for the preservation of historical monuments. The entire house is fully air-conditioned to protect the valuable room and painting equipment. Part of the thermal refurbishment was almost 700 m² of ceiling surfaces, which were activated using Clina capillary tube mats integrated in metal and plasterboard cassettes.

Over a construction period of more than four years, the effort put into the personnel and materials has given the Liechtenstein City Palace back the elegance of the Baroque and the colourfulness of the Biedermeier era. Thanks to the patronage of the Princely House of Liechtenstein the splendor of the Palais in der Bankgasse can once again be admired in its authenticity.

Project

Project title

Palace Liechtenstein Vienna

Location

Vienna
Austria

Building type

public building/
refurbishment

Architect

Wehdorn Architekten

Client

Prince of Liechtenstein Foundation

Year

2007 - 2012

CTM surface

664 m²

Awards

Winner of the German Lighting Design Award 2014 in the category museums

Palais Liechtenstein Wien © Mistervlad - stock.adobe.com

Beschreibung

Das Stadtpalais Liechtenstein, erbaut 1691-1705, ist das Initialbauwerk der hochbarocken Architektur in Wien. Sein Innenausbau von 1836 bis 1847 gilt als erste und bedeutendste Neugestaltung im Stil des „Zweiten Rokoko“. Die Revitalisierung des Stadtpalais Liechtenstein war aus kulturhistorischer Sicht von größter Bedeutung für Wien.

Nach Jahren einer provisorischen Nutzung begann im März 2007 die Neuplanung, deren Ziele in einer dem architektonischen und baukünstlerischen Stellenwert des Palais entsprechenden multifunktionalen Nutzung und einer Generalsanierung nach wissenschaftlich-denkmalpflegerischen Kriterien zu sehen sind. Das gesamte Haus ist, um die wertvolle Raum- und Gemäldeausstattung zu schützen, vollklimatisiert. Teil der thermischen Sanierung waren fast 700 m² Deckenflächen, welche mittels Clina Kapillarrohrmatten integriert in Metall- und Gipskartonkassetten aktiviert wurden.

Der große personelle und materialtechnische Aufwand, basierend auf wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen, hat dem Stadtpalais Liechtenstein in mehr als vierjähriger Bauzeit die Eleganz des Barock und den Farbenfrohsinn des Biedermeier wieder zurückgegeben. Es ist dem Mäzenatentum des Fürstenhauses Liechtenstein zu verdanken, dass man die Pracht des Palais in der Bankgasse in ihrer Authentizität wieder bewundern kann.

Projekt

Projektname

Palais Liechtenstein Wien

Standort

Wien, Österreich

Gebäudetyp

Museum, Sanierung

Architekt

Wehdorn Architekten

Auftraggeber

Stiftung Fürst Liechtenstein

Jahr

2007 - 2012

Auszeichnungen

Gewinner des Deutschen Lichtdesignpreises 2014 in der Kategorie Museen